A little bit of this and a little bit of that….

The beginning of my summer vacation has been absolutely thrilling and educational in a very different way than I’m used to. Rather than learning more about textbook chemistry, I got to take a class from Rita Reade on soldering and using chemicals to make metal look old and glass bottles look beautiful! Thanks Rita!

This lovely glass door knob has been soldered to a stopper and attached to a beautiful bottle. This was a class project with Rita. Notice the scalloped metal strip at the bottom of the bottle.

A little glass charm with soldered back and sides that we made as part of our soldering class. Very cute.

The icing on my summer cake was an opportunity to take a banner-making class with artist Debbie Hodge at Urban Barn. Her banner was a lovely, glittery “WISH”! Absolutely lovely. The reason it looks like perfection is that there are many layers under the final decor: paint, glitter and more glitter.

Scrumptious wish banner....Debbie is a real artisan and does things RIGHT! What a great class! I will definitely be signing up for her next class!

Notice the detail on each letter. Vintage metal fillagree, rhinestones, crystals and a tiny Christmas tree!

I’m working in my office today on a little more bottle soldering and decorating….

An old lamp base that I found at Ivy Gate Cottage. I attached a glass door knob and added some soldering and bling. I think it looks like an old apothecary bottle...

A dressed up brown bottle. I used a brass door handle rather than glass, a vintage french label and, of course, rhinestones!!!!!!

My summer vacation is off to a great start….

One thought on “A little bit of this and a little bit of that….

  1. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this website. I am hoping to see the same high-grade blog posts from you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own site now 😉
    Tracie

Leave a Reply

